Preventing Student Burnout

It’s already the second week of a new semester, and I am already exhausted. Yesterday I was doing my Calculus homework all day and I honestly got burnout because it took forever. Luckily for me, it wasn’t too bad and I was able to start studying again a couple of hours later, but being burned out is rough. When I’m exhausted and burnt out, I start to daydream, I don’t get any work done, I start to feel alone and anxious, and sometimes I question what I am doing and why I am here. So I started researching what college burnout is and how to deal with it now and in the future. 

  1. Time Management
    • Time management is the key to everything. But if you manage your time well, you should have time to study, sleep, and hang out with friends. Also don’t procrastinate your homework or if you have a lot of homework, don’t finish it in one sitting. I was doing Calculus homework for at least 4 hours and I just couldn’t go on. I started daydreaming and I had to stop because I was not actually doing anything.
  2. Exercise / Sleep
    • When you are feeling burnt out,maybe it is a good idea to sleep. It will help you and your brain relax and calm down after your brain has done its workout.
    • This comes along with time management, but plan out that you are going to sleep for at least 6-7 hours a day preferably 9 hours. If you find yourself overwhelmed with work, then consider dropping a class. Your mental health is very important for your motivation, sanity and simply being healthy.
  3. Take Breaks when you work/ study
    • I find this technique called the Pomodoro Technique, even though it sounds fancy, it basically you work for 25 minutes and just sit and relax for another 5 minutes. During your break don’t go on social media or go on youtube because your brain then focuses on another task and will have difficulty refocusing on your assignment. During the five minutes get sit there and breathe . If you can try to meditate or at least stretch your body.
  4. Hang out with your friends
    • If you have the right friends they will help you feel more motivated and may even focus better. In addition you will clear your mind off of the task that you are doing so that when you come back you are fresh and ready to tackle the problem. Hanging out with your friends can help you feel less lonely which is one cause for burnout.
  5. Ask for Help
    • There are many free resources that you can use the main one being the Learning centers or even any office hours that your professors will hold. Often times you can’t overcome a mental block in your knowledge that’s preventing you from fully understanding the material, a tutor can help you overcome that. So when you understand the subject matter, you will feel more confident and be able to prevent burnout.

 

Try to Prevent Student Burnout before it becomes a problem. Its no fun to deal with, trust me I’ve been there.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

