Best Study Spots: Revealed!

Hello, RU family! I have been asked a lot recently — being the nerd that I am — where my favorite places to study are… and there are certainly a few. Below, I have outlined my 4 favorite places to hit the books… and notes… and powerpoints… I have also rated the locations based on quietness, aesthetic appeal, and food availability. A score of 0 basically means “bad” while a score of 10 basically means “fantastic”.

 

LIBRARY OF SCIENCE & MEDICINE

QUIETNESS: 10

AESTHETIC: 5

FOOD: 0

WHY I STUDY HERE? I study at the Library of Science & Medicine on Busch because, well, those are my people. This library is most prominently filled with science majors, pre-meds, etc. Most of the time, you can hear a pin drop in this building. I love walking up the stairs to the top level and sitting at one of the desks by the windows to do my work. There are bookcases, chairs, and tables galore, but, unfortunately, no food options without having to leave the building. (Meal-swipe locations that are a walk or a bus ride away include Woody’s and the Busch Dining Hall!)

 

STARBUCKS

QUIETNESS: 5

AESTHETIC: 8

FOOD: 10

WHY I STUDY HERE? I study at Starbucks (most often the one on George Street) because I love the coffee shop vibes, and even though it may not be the quietest place, the atmosphere always gets me in the mood to get to work. Superfluous food and caffiene options (You can use RU Express!) will motivate you and give you the brain power you need to focus, despite the constant buzz of espresso machines and conversation. I almost always find a seat as soon as I get my drink, and tend to stay in the store with my laptop open for at least a few hours. (If Mexican food is your thing, there’s a Chipotle right next door!)

 

THE ACADEMIC BUILDING

QUIETNESS: 9

AESTHETIC: 10

FOOD: 0

WHY I STUDY HERE? I study in the Academic Building, next to the Honors College, because it is a quiet, beautiful, well-lit place to study and read. There are computer labs, printing stations, and a learning center — I couldn’t ask for more! … Actually, I could. The Academic Building is a great place to go right after you’ve eaten something, for there are no easily accessible places to eat near/in the building without taking the walk to Brower Commons or The Yard. I’d throw a snack in my backpack, if I were you.

 

DOUGLASS STUDENT CENTER

QUIETNESS: 4

AESTHETIC: 7

FOOD: 10

WHY I STUDY HERE? I study in the Douglass Student Center because I love the way the tables/booths are arranged, and I am impressed with the wide variety of cuisines offered for the small price of a swipe! Mid-study-sesh cravings can be satisfied with pizza, Chipotle-style burrito bowls, bar-n-grill food, deli sandwiches and more. This place does get a bit noisy, because not everyone comes here to hardcore study, but I certainly find that it’s the perfect place to go over some Quizlets.

 

BONUS! Study Spots To Avoid! This is just my opinion, but I would stay away from Kilmer Library (it can get pretty rowdy), any residence hall lounge (these can also get pretty loud), and any dining hall. Don’t study while you’re at a dining hall! You deserve a break to just focus on the food, my friend.

 

Hope this article inspires you to branch out and find a new place to study this semester! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

